Caverswall Parish Council was formed in 1988 after the then Caverswall and Werrington Parish Council split into two separate entities. Prior to this the village was part of Cheadle Rural District Council.

The Parish Council is the first tier of Local Government. It is made up of Councillors who are elected every 4 years. There are seven seats on the Parish Council.

What does the Parish Council do?

  • We help residents with any issues they may have especially relating to local government
  • We consider all Planning Applications within the parish and make comments as appropriate to Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
  • We speak for the Parish in statutory consultations
  • We liaise with other bodies on highways, planning, environment and many other issues
  • We care about Caverswall and want to conserve the peace and beauty of the parish
  • We do not get involved in Party Politics

How is the Parish Council funded?

The Parish Council receives funding from Staffordshire Moorlands District Council through what is known as the Parish Precept. This Precept is charged to residents through the Council Tax.

Members of the Parish Council:

The Council has seven Councillors who are unpaid volunteers and normally serve for a term of four years. At the end of their term of office the Councillors may seek re-election or decide to stand down. The Register of Interests for the Parish Councillors can be views at

The administration of the parish council is managed by the Parish Clerk who holds the dual role of Secretary and Treasurer to the Council.

Meetings :

The Council meet on the 1st Monday of each month apart from the month of August when there is no meeting. Meetings are held at Caverswall Village Hall and start at 7.30pm. The meetings are open to the public.

Your Parish Council :

Email: Cllr Paul Roberts Chairman Tel: 01782 388197 / 07811 958471 (Paul is also Staffordshire Moorlands District Councillor for Caverswall Ward)
Email: Cllr Edna Durose Vice Chairman Tel: 07375 371838
Email: Cllr Malcolm Dean Tel: 07973 884541
Email: Cllr Ross Ward Tel: 07712 640810 (Ross is also Staffordshire Moorlands District Councillor for Werrington Ward and Staffordshire County Councillor for Caverswall Ward)
Email: Cllr Maxine Clayton Tel: 07816 376813
Email: Cllr Andy Marshall Tel: 07890 847176
Email: Cllr Matt Gibson Tel: 07850 779851
Lynn Cantlay – Clerk to the Parish Council – Lynn has been the Parish Clerk since 1st September 2012. She can be contacted using the Contact Us page or any of the following:
Tel: 01782 698509 / 07811 879627
Post: The Gables, 504 Weston Road, Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, ST3 6QD
You can also contact any Councillor via the Clerk who will forward to the relevant Councillor